Skip to main content:

Duncan Stonebridge
M: 07740 642457
Registered Instructor with the
Tai Chi Union For Great Britain

Follow us on Twitter
Follow tingjingtaichi on Twitter RSS Twitter feed @tingjingtaichi

The Bagua (8 Trigrams)

Chinese Philosophy |Yin and Yang|The Bagua (8 Trigrams)|Wu Xing (5 Moments)

Following the creation of Yin and Yang, they combined to form the trigram, these diagrammatically are combinations of three lines, a broken line is yin and solid unbroken line is yang, giving eight possible Trigrams arrange in a circular pattern, traditional there are two arrangements, the King Wen or Later Haven and the Fuxi or early Heaven. The Trigrams represent elements of nature that could be roughly labelled as, Wind, Fire, Earth, Lake, Heaven, River, Mountain and Thunder. The Eight Trigrams are further doubled to form groups of six lines giving the sixty four hexagrams of the Yi Jing. Next >>

bagua.JPG - 30329 Bytes


Introduction - Chinese Philosophy

Tai Chi